Procrastination: The Confidence Game

By now, it’s obvious that one of my favorite topics to write about – because it is so often present in my life – is “writing procrastination.”

This morning I realized that procrastination is really a matter of confidence. When I lack confidence in my work, in my writing – I am likely to procrastinate. When I don’t worry about the outcome of my work, or when I am exceptionally focused, then procrastination is less of a problem.

The good news is, I realized this after reading a chapter I had written, and finding myself surprisingly satisfied with the results! It makes it considerably easier to go back to the keyboard and get to work – whether it is doing further revision, or starting from scratch on the next chapter!

© writingreading, 2009

Leave a Reply

