Keeping the momentum going!

If you’re wondering where I’ve been lately, well, the good news is: I’ve been writing! Working on my magnum opus, offline. A lot. Which is a good thing.

Today I feel like I finally have some momentum, and I like where my book is going, and most days, I believe it can get there. It’s been quite an uphill climb, lately, until just the past few days when finally it feels like things are beginning to fall in place.

I think right now, for me, it’s a lot like a bike ride uphill. You struggle and pump and pant and feel like you are making almost no progress. And yet you still have to pant and pedal, again with very little forward movement. But then you finally reach the crest of that hill – and wheeeee – it’s a free and easy coast on the down side. You can see the finish line in the distance, the gorgeous view of the countryside spread out before you, and you believe – and finally, know you are going to make it.  The uphill struggle and your aching calves are quickly forgotten, and you ride through the exhilarating breeze, using all of that energy you and your bike gained on the long climb. That’s where I’m at, now.

Oh, sure, I know it will be shortlived, and there are still many more hills and mountains between where I am now, and where this journey will end. But I do know that it is crucially important to not put on the brakes and to keep going with the momentum I’ve got.

For any fellow writers out there – I hope this gives you encouragement if you are struggling on the upside of a hill in your own work, right now.  I know I was on that side of the mountain myself, just last week. Just keep pedaling, and you will get there!

© writingreading, 2008

Leave a Reply

